Forum Dvorah's Team

Forum Dvorah's team come from a variety of different professional backgrounds in the fields of policy and national security, with immense experience between them.

Our founders and board members have all been moves and shakers and many have shattered glass ceilings..


Our board members and founders all operate on a voluntary basis.

Brig. Gen. (res.) Sharon Nir

Board Chair

Sharon is the former Adviser to the IDF Chief of Staff on Gender Affairs.

She served in the IDF for 30 years, during which she led national strategic moves and served as the first woman in many roles. 

Sharon was the first woman to be appointed as Communications Battalion Commander in the Central Command and the first to be appointed as the Head of the National School of Information Technology and Cyber.

Col. (res.) Nira Shpak

Board Member

Nira is a member of Kibbutz Kfar Aza, in Southern Israel. She served in the IDF for 26 years and continues to activly serve in the reserves in various command and operations roles. 

During her service, she was the first woman to serve as a Brigade Commander and Commander of an Operational Sector.

Mor Yahalom

Board Member

Mor Yahalom is the Government Relations Manager at the Institute of National Security Studies (INSS) and the Research Assistant to Lt. Gen. (ret.) Gadi Eisenkot.

Mor has a BA in Behavioral Sciences from the Academic College of Tel Aviv-Yafo and a Master’s in Public Affairs (MPA) from Princeton University’s Woodrow Wilson School.

At Princeton, she was selected to be a Student Fellow at the Center for International Security Studies (CISS), and co-chaired the Gender Policy Network (GPN). Mor previously worked as a research assistant to Ambassador (ret.) Daniel Kurtzer, conducting research on US-Israel strategic relations and decision-making in the international arena.

Dr. Shira Efron

Board Member

Shira is a visiting fellow at the Institute for National Security Studies (INSS) and a Special Advisor on Israel with the RAND Corporation. Previously she was a Middle East analyst at several think tanks in Washington DC including the Center for American Progress and Middle East Institute. 

Lt. Col. (res.) Ayala Hanegbi

Board Member

Ayala is the former Head of Policy at the Ministry of Intelligence Services. Previously she served in the IDF’s Planning Directorate and Military Intelligence Directorate. 

She has been volunteering for several years at the Rothschild Foundation as a mentor in the Foundation’s Ambassadors Program and is also a strategic counsellor and spiritual coach.

Dr. Idit Shafran-Gittleman

Board Member

Idiit is the Director of the Military and Society Program at the Israel Democracy Institute. 

She is a Post-doctoral candidate in the Faculty of Law at Tel-Aviv University. Idit holds an MA in philosophy from the University of Haifa.

The topic of her doctoral dissertation is "Partiality in War.”

Tanyah Murkes

Executive Director

Tanyah has been with Forum Dvorah since 2018. She has over a decade of experience in the fields of policy and foreign affairs, working with decision-makers and leaders in Israel and abroad. Previously Tanyah was the Director of the Israel Branch for the Conservative Friends of Israel (CFI), an organisation which works with the Conservative Party in the UK Parliament, and the Director of the Israel Office for the Australia Israel UK Leadership Dialogue. 

Alina Shkolnikov-Shvartsman

Board Member

Alina is a Program Officer for Impact Entrepreneurship at the Edmond de Rothschild Foundation. Her previous positions included HPE SW's Innovation Program Manager, Client Solutions Manager and Head of Communications at Wikistrat and Director of Content and Programs at PresenTense.

Alina is also the founder of Ms. Catt - aimed at implementing UNSCR 1325 in non-Western conflict countries.

Dr. Einat Ronen

Board Member

Einat is a lawyer, strategic advisor, lecturer and leader of inter-ministerial and inter-sectoral processes on complex social issues. Her most recent positions included, among others, an advisor to the Prime Minister's Office, Head of National Enterprises at the Alka Institute for Government at JDC Israel and Director of the Department of Cooperation at the Peres Center for Peace. 

Our Founders and Former Board Members:

Lt. General (ret.) Orit Adato 

Helit Barel

Col. (res.) Miri Eisin

Lt. Col. (res.) Dr. Meytal Eran-Jona

Adv. Tom Gal

Dr. Michal Hatuel-Radoshitzky

Adv. Deborah Housen-Couriel

Dr. Tzipi Israeli

Adv. Dr. Tzipi Isser Itzik

Brig. Gen. (res.) Gila Klifi Amir

Col. (res.) Ronit Levavi-Morad​

Dr. Shlomit Lir

Adv. Eti Livni

Lt. Col. (ret.) Orna Mizrahi, Former Deputy National Security Adviser for Foreign Policy

Brig. Gen. (ret). Israela Oron

Col. (res.) Adv. Pnina Sharvit Baruch

Sima Shine

Gail Shoresh